Through our Catholic Curriculum we aim to prepare our lifelong learners by providing an education where everybody shares and lives the values, teachings and traditions of the Catholic Church. Following in the tradition of Mission, we seek to care, co-operate and answer a call to help others so we can make a positive contribution in the world.

Learning Areas:

As a Special Character school, Religious Education is the foundation curriculum area that underpins everything we do. Alongside this, the 8 learning areas from the New Zealand curriculum listed below, are broad groupings of knowledge that provide the framework for learning.

  • English
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Science
  • Social Sciences
  • Arts
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Technology
  • Learning Languages

The Years 0-3 students will primarily work from Levels 1 & 2 of the curriculum. Years 4 - 6 students will work primarily from Levels 2 & 3 and Years 7 - 8 students will work primarily from Levels 3 & 4.

Curriculum themes:

St Patrick's School has chosen to develop significant concepts (central themes) to engage students and integrate learning through the key competencies through the teaching of science, social sciences and technology, integrated with other learning areas where appropriate. The conceptes are connected, coherent and balanced across the curriculum. Concepts include the understandings, knowledge, skills and attitudes that students need for addressing real-life issues and in a real-life context. All concepts incorporate the St Patrick's learner characteristics that are aligned with the Key Competencies.

Our 8 Curriculum themes are:

  1. Treasures
  2. One World, Many Faces
  3. Inspiration
  4. Exploration
  5. Growth
  6. Connections
  7. Footprints
  8. Celebration